You Were born for this

Summary:

His New York Times–bestselling phenomenon The Prayer of Jabez changed how millions pray. Now Bruce Wilkinson wants to change what they do next. You Were Born for This will inspire readers to look for the miracles God is ready to do through them on a regular basis.

Author Bios:

One of the world’s foremost Christian teachers, Bruce Wilkinson is best known as the author of the New York Times #1 bestseller The Prayer of Jabez. He is also the author of numerous other bestsellers, including A Life God Rewards, Secrets of the Vine, and The Dream Giver. Over the past three decades, Wilkinson has founded several global initiatives, including organizations that recruited and trained thousands of Americans to address hunger, AIDS, and poverty in Africa. Bruce and his wife, Darlene, have three children and six grandchildren. They live outside Atlanta.

David Kopp has collaborated with Bruce Wilkinson on over a dozen bestselling books, including The Prayer of Jabez. He is an editor and writer living in Colorado.

Click here to read an excerpt: You Were Born For This:7 Keys to a Life of Predictable Miracles

For more information click here.

When I first saw the title I thought, I need to read this because I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. Maybe this book will give me some insight. I didn’t find my perfect career, but I did discover a part of my life as a Christian that I was missing–partnering with God’s Holy Spirit to meet the needs of others.

I teared up several times as I read the stories of how God used people like me to miraculously meet the needs of someone hurting–whether financially, spiritually or emotionally.

Seemingly chance encounters can be orchestrated by God to work a miracle in someone’s life.

So, what do I want to be when I grow up–NOW? I want to be used as a delivery agent for God to deliver his miracles all to His Glory.

This book was written for Christians to help improve their serve. I believe serving in this way is an excellent way to open the door for witnessing to hurting people.
Read You Were Born for This to see if you are overlooking daily miracles.

This is an example from scripture of a miracle encounter:

Acts 8:26-39 (New International Version)

Philip and the Ethiopian

26Now an angel of the Lord said to Philip, “Go south to the road—the desert road—that goes down from Jerusalem to Gaza.” 27So he started out, and on his way he met an Ethiopian[a]eunuch, an important official in charge of all the treasury of Candace, queen of the Ethiopians. This man had gone to Jerusalem to worship, 28and on his way home was sitting in his chariot reading the book of Isaiah the prophet. 29The Spirit told Philip, “Go to that chariot and stay near it.”

30Then Philip ran up to the chariot and heard the man reading Isaiah the prophet. “Do you understand what you are reading?” Philip asked.

31“How can I,” he said, “unless someone explains it to me?” So he invited Philip to come up and sit with him.

32The eunuch was reading this passage of Scripture:
“He was led like a sheep to the slaughter,
and as a lamb before the shearer is silent,
so he did not open his mouth.
33In his humiliation he was deprived of justice.
Who can speak of his descendants?
For his life was taken from the earth.”[b]

34The eunuch asked Philip, “Tell me, please, who is the prophet talking about, himself or someone else?” 35Then Philip began with that very passage of Scripture and told him the good news about Jesus.

36As they traveled along the road, they came to some water and the eunuch said, “Look, here is water. Why shouldn’t I be baptized?”[c] 38And he gave orders to stop the chariot. Then both Philip and the eunuch went down into the water and Philip baptized him. 39When they came up out of the water, the Spirit of the Lord suddenly took Philip away, and the eunuch did not see him again, but went on his way rejoicing.