It has been a few days since coming home from my writers conference held at Ridgecrest nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains. This particular conference is  a revival of sorts for me, and I get a little blue when I return home.

I fellowshipped with people like me who have ideas they want to share and want instruction on how to do it effectively. I have worshipped, laughed and have had some thoughts validated. I met some incredible people who have incredible stories to tell.

But I can’t stay there in that mountaintop euphoria. I have to come down from the mountain.

Our Bible study lesson this Sunday at church was on the Great Commission from the book of Matthew, chapter 28. In verse 16 the 11 disciples went to Galilee to the mountain where they met Jesus. He told them to go and make disciples of all nations.

The disciples couldn’t stay on the mountain with Jesus, though I’m sure they wanted to. No, they had a mission that they could not fulfill by staying up there.

We have a mission that cannot be carried out up on the mountain at Ridgecrest. We must go, write, teach, preach and show the love of God to those we encounter, whether it be by screenplay, novel, devotion, Bible study, memoir, sermon, or non-fiction book.

Ready. Set. Go.

Matthew 28:16-20Christian Standard Bible (CSB)

The Great Commission

16 The eleven disciples traveled to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had directed them. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped, but some doubted. 18 Jesus came near and said to them, “All authority has been given to me in heaven and on earth. 19 Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 teaching them to observe everything I have commanded you. And remember, I am with you always,to the end of the age.”

It was great to get back to my home church where we had two baptisms in our Sunday Morning Service. Buried with Christ and raised to walk in newness of life. A beautiful picture of a life that is changed by the cleansing we receive by coming to Jesus–whether we meet him on a mountain or in the lowlands.

In my personal Bible Study this morning I read from Psalm 90 verse 2,

Before the mountains were brought forth, or ever You had formed the earth and the world, Even from everlasting to everlasting, You are God.